0
Technology Review

A systematic review of non-invasive ECG monitoring devices for the evaluation of syncope

[+] Author and Article Information
Monica Solbiati

UOC Medicina d’Urgenza e Pronto Soccorso – Fondazione IRCCS Ca’ Granda, Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico, Dipartimento di Scienze Cliniche e di Comunità – Università degli Studi di Milano, via F. Sforza 35, 20122 Milan, Italy
monica.solbiati@gmail.com

Lucia Trombetta

Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
lucia.trombetta@studenti.unimi.it

Roberto M Sacco

Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
roberto.mr.sacco@gmail.com

Luca Erba

Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
luca.erba6@gmail.com

Viviana Bozzano

Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
viviana.bozzano@gmail.com

Giorgio Costantino

UOC Medicina d’Urgenza e Pronto Soccorso – Fondazione IRCCS Ca’ Granda, Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico and Dipartimento di Scienze Cliniche e di Comunità – Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
giorgic2@gmail.com

Satish R Raj

Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta, University of Calgary, Calgary, Canada
satish.raj@ucalgary.ca

Franca Barbic

Internal Medicine, Humanitas Research Hospital, Humanitas University, Rozzano, Italy
franca.barbic@humanitas.it

Giovanni Casazza

Dipartimento di Scienze Biomediche e Cliniche "L. Sacco" – Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
giovanni.casazza@unimi.it

Franca Dipaola

Internal Medicine, Humanitas Research Hospital, Humanitas University, Rozzano, Italy
franca.dipaola@humanitas.it

Raffaello Furlan

Internal Medicine, Humanitas Research Hospital, Humanitas University, Rozzano, Italy
raffaello.furlan@hunimed.eu

Rose A Kenny

Falls and Syncope Unit, St James Hospital and Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
rkenny@tcd.ie

James V Quinn

Department of Emergency Medicine, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA
quinnj@stanford.edu

Robert S Sheldon

Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta, University of Calgary, Calgary, Canada
sheldon@ucalgary.ca

Win-Kuang Shen

Department of Cardiovascular Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, Arizona
wshen@mayo.edu

Benjamin C Sun

Department of Emergency Medicine, Center for Policy Research-Emergency Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, OR, USA
sunb@ohsu.edu

Venkatesh Thiruganasambandamoorthy

Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON, Canada
vthirug@ohri.ca

Matthew J Reed

Emergency Medicine Research Group Edinburgh (EMERGE), Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, University of Edinburgh, The Chancellor's Building, Edinburgh, UK
Matthew.Reed@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4042795 History: Received September 24, 2018; Revised December 27, 2018

Abstract

The aims of this study were (1) to identify research publications studying non-invasive ECG monitoring devices, (2) to define and categorize current technology in non-invasive ECG recording and (3) to discuss desirable non-invasive recording features for personalized syncope evaluation to guide technological advancement and future studies. We performed a systematic review of literature that assessed non-invasive ECG monitoring devices, regardless the reason for monitoring. We performed an internet search and corresponded with syncope experts and companies to help identify further eligible products. We extracted information about included studies and device features. We found 173 relevant papers. The main reasons for ECG-monitoring were atrial fibrillation (n=45), coronary artery disease (n=10), syncope (n=8), palpitations (n=8), other cardiac diseases (n=67) and technological aspects of monitoring (n=35). We identified 198 devices: 5 hospital telemetry devices, 12 patches, 46 event recorders, 70 Holter monitors, 23 external loop recorders, 20 mobile cardiac outpatient telemetries and 22 multifunctional devices. The features of each device were very heterogeneous. There are a large number of ECG-monitoring devices with different features available on the market. Our findings may help clinicians select the appropriate device for their patients. Since there are only a few published articles analysing their usefulness in syncope patients, further research might improve their use in this clinical setting.

Copyright (c) 2019 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In